Awards

There is something about a type A personality that is very goal-oriented. This usually means high grades in school and overall excellent performance in whatever they do. Unfortunately, this also means a deep need for recognition, and when none is achieved, we feel empty. There is a void left in us where the praise and recognition of all our hard work should have been. Thankfully, I have learned to fill that void with God. Tonight was my Senior Awards banquet at my high school, and I really didn’t get anything that I was hoping for at all. I worked so hard this year, and I wanted to be recognized for that. I think it’s just nice to take a step back a remember why we are here – to lead lives that are fulfilling to Christ. Without Him, none of this would be possible. I think that I have just begun learning what humility is – and I am not excited for the process.

Leave a Reply

